Week of 5.4

Homebound! This week marked a newer new normal. After receiving word that I could work entirely remotely for the month of May, I decided to pack up ship and head on down to land of the long leaf pine. Being home in NC means that there are two more mouths to feed (and please)!

I spent SIX hours yesterday cooking all of the food for us, but it’s hours of cooking time and prep time that don’t need to be allocated during this week. It was also my first time cooking that much volume and I trust that next week things will go a little more seamlessly.

Because I was heading home, I figured why not bring out some family recipes. Enter red cabbage and German potato salad. I also wanted to freshen things up and make sure that I ate the rainbow. Did I pass again this week?

On the menu this week: 5/4 – 5/9

  • Breakfast: protein oats
    • 50g rolled oats, 16g creamy unsalted pb, 35g pea protein isolate, 50g frozen mixed berries
      • 40.2 P / 42.9 C / 12.8 F
  • Lunch: ground turkey butternut squash quinoa bowl
    • 3.5 oz ground turkey, 1/4 cup dry quinoa, 69 g butternut squash, 1/4 cup celery, 1 T pomegranate seeds, 1/4 lemon
      • 27.5 P / 45.4 C / 10.8 F
  • Snack: clementine, toast, cream cheese, and wine*
    • 1 clementines, 1 slice Ezekiel flax bread, 30 g chive cream cheese, 5 oz red wine
      • 8 P / 24 C / 19 F
  • Dinner: German red cabbage, potato salad, and chicken!
    • 4 ounces chicken breast (weighed raw)
  • Dessert: yogurt with cinnamon pretzel!
    • 100 g 0% fat Greek yogurt, 50 g apple, 1 T peanut butter, 1 serving cinnamon pretzel
      • 19 P / 55 C / 10 F

macros for the day: 142 P / 215 C / 58 F

Note: the asterisked meals (snack and dessert) are the flexible meals and change day to day. After logging all of my meals this week I had a lot of flexibility for fat. So, although I logged a glass of wine at 3:00 PM today, that doesn’t mean I’ll have that every day. I’ll probably enjoy some chia pudding one day, trail mix, or even avocado with my lunch!

The shopping list below outlines enough for four people for 6 days. Some of the items purchased this week were form Costco so they’ll be around for the long haul. Some items I also had on hand from last week (spices, oil, protein powder, self-rising flour for the pretzels, etc.) Comment for recipes!


want to make this at home?
produce
  • 1 bag of apples
  • 1 bag of clementines
  • 2 butternut squash
  • 1 bag frozen berries
  • 2 bunch celery
  • 2 cups pomegranate seeds
  • 2 head red cabbage
  • 9 lbs potatoes
  • 6 lbs sweet potatoes
  • 6 lemons
protein
  • 2 package turkey bacon
  • 4 qt egg whites
  • 16 lbs ground turkey
  • 6 lbs chicken
  • 12 eggs
  • 0% Greek yogurt
pantry
  • 1 loaf Ezekiel bread
  • 10 lb bag of quinoa
  • rolled oats
  • peanut butter

total cost: $203 ($1.87/meal)

Published by Tetofood

Native to The Old North State, took a bite of The Big Apple. Lover of food, fitness, and frolicking. Working towards food security by way of food rescue.

6 thoughts on “Week of 5.4

Leave a comment